Food and Nutrition

Food is music to the body” Gregory David Roberts.  

Key Stage 4 

Year 10 is the start of the 2-year GCSE course. Our curriculum is specifically tailored to ensure our students achieve their full potential in assignments and exams set by AQA. Click here to see the exam board’s website.

AQA Food and Nutrition

Food and Nutrition is a dynamic, vibrant and innovative sector delivering vital jobs, growth and
investment in the heart of our local communities – important culturally, socially and economically.

Learning to cook is a key life skill, it’s something that we all need to be able to do. Food and Nutrition develops other skills such as communication, determination, resilience, confidence and independence.

This qualification is made up of 5 units and is assessed through examination and non-examined assessment (NEA).

Students study:

  1. Food, nutrition and health
  2. Food science
  3. Food safety
  4. Food choice
  5. Food provenance

Examination assesses students’ theoretical knowledge of food preparation and nutrition from the sections mentioned above. The NEA assesses students’ understanding of the working characteristics, functional and chemical properties of ingredients and students’ knowledge, skills and understanding in relation to the planning, preparation, cooking, presentation of food and application of nutrition related to the chosen task. Students prepare, cook and present a final menu of three dishes within a single period of no more than three hours, planning in advance how this will be achieved.

British Values, SMSC and Cultural Capital 

We celebrate diversity and develop mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs. Students appreciate cultural influences on the food we cook and the diversity of ingredients available for us to cook with. Students delve into the moral and ethical implications of buying organic, free range, local & seasonal produce. Students also learn about staple foods of other countries.